Posted by: cynewulffe | March 15, 2010

Hydration Headaches

Unbelievable. 

Because the number and severity of sinus headaches has all but stopped, I am now able to work with another set of headaches that have always plagued me. 

Tension headaches…these tend to come in the early afternoons after a difficult day at work. Very mild, maybe a 1 or 2 on a 1-10 scale. A tylenol takes them away quickly. It’s amazing how small they are, but they almost wear you down in and of themselves.

Congestion headache…due to a cold where the sinus pressure begins to build up. Because there is no infection, the pressure is not that bad but relief only comes after drainage begins. They sometimes hurt above my eyes and on the top of my head. A 2-3 on a scale of 1-10.

Hydration headaches…Originally I thought that it was due to coffee. Like caffeine withdrawal. So I limited my coffee intake in the mornings but it was clearly not the problem. As it turns out, I experienced them towards the end of the week. I noticed that my exercise routine forces me to drink lots of water, and I do a great job on the weekends, but towards the end of the week I drink less and less. 

One time I drank massive amounts of water and the headache was gone in 12 hours. Another time they started in again on a Wednesday so I took the cue and drank a lot of water and it went away. Since then I have been drinking a lot of water and all the headaches are gone.

Leave a Reply

Categories

