Posted by: cynewulffe | October 31, 2009

Sensitive to Smells

I was spraying for bugs a few days ago. I remembered how when I sprayed with the same chemical in years before, it would have a distinct smell and cause me to feel a chemical reaction within my head. I usually wore a mask and worked to achieve good ventilation.

This time when I began, I purposely tried to stimulate my self  in a safe way in order to see the type of reaction I would get.

I felt a similar feeling as when my nose was healing inside. I felt a reaction up in my nostril as if a whole bunch of nerve endings were charging or firing. It’s not unpleasant, just weird. It almost feels like an “alien” body is entering. Then, my nose started to run, and I sneezed violently. Similar in ways to a sinus infection where a sinus cavity drains and pushes out a foreign body.

What could this mean for me? Well, I think it means that I’m still healing, that my nerves and olfactory system is still working its way back to normal, and that hopefully I will be at full strength again. Right now my taste is nice at 60%: especially with lemon, peach, orange, vanilla, and chocolate tastes. Blueberry, strawberry, and cheesy things still don’t work well. I would say that my smell ability is at 15%.

Responses

  1. First, a very obvious observation: your sense of smell has a lot to do w/ your nasal passages. And keeping those passages clean is of the utmost importance!
    Sinus infections are an all-too-frequent topic as most of my extend family suffers from one extent or another. There have been many things tried and discussed, including acupuncture, changes in diet, neti pot, balloon sinuplasty, you name it!
But one thing that we all agree on is the importance of keeping those nasal passages clean! This is good practice even when you’re NOT having sinus trouble!
Thanks and have a great day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

