Posted by: cynewulffe | October 25, 2009

Occasional Smells

Today I smelled three things: one whiff of lumber at Home Depot (but not at Lowes when I walked through the same type of aisles), a candle on the stove, and onions when I sliced them. I guess that’s an improvement over not noticing any smells on most days. It’s been 4 months since maxillary sinus surgery, I’m not currently congested, but I don’t understand why I can’t smell. I guess it’s getting better…but very very slowly. Like super slug speed.

I was the most surprised at Home Depot because I wasn’t expecting it. It’s interesting how a smell connects with your experiences in the past, and certain memories. It’s one way that we associate or make connections with those things and people around us.

I was also surprised by onions that I briefly smelled. I wasn’t expecting it. I used to smell them all the time, but now my experience is to smell nothing. So when I do, it’s a slight shock.

I wish it wasn’t so.

Responses

  1. Gotta chime in here, sorry can’t keep my mouth shut. Sinus infections are no fun at all and every case is different but I always say start w/ more natural remedies first. Nasal rinses, neti pot for example.
    And then of course keep in contact w/ your doctor as if things progress you might have chronic sinusitis. And then it’s a ct scan and the choices are usually balloon sinuplasty or endoscopic sinus surgery.
    Stay informed and Take Care!
    -Purcell

  2. My surgery was the last option in a long line of treatments. My sense of smell was starting to come back about ten days after. I had read your blog before surgery and it worried me. It must be a struggle to deal with this but you seem to be managing with such grace.

    Best of wishes. ~K

  3. Karli, I’m glad it turned it well for you. I believe it really does for the vast majority. I still think everything will be fine for me personally. It makes me appreciate life just a little bit more.


Leave a Reply

Categories

