Posted by: cynewulffe | October 11, 2009

Smell and Taste; Piecemeal

It’s been 3 1/2 months since my surgery on both maxillary sinus openings. It’s been 1 week since my first post-sinus infection has been treated. I am not congested and have nothing really causing me problems. I am currently going through a bout with bronchitis, but besides some questioning with headache and ethmoid pressure, it’s irrelevant.

I can occasionally smell things. Sometimes I expect to smell something but nothing happens, other times I’m surprised. The occurence is irregular and the longevity is short. But at least there is some smell at times. There is no rhyme or reason for instance. Spicy or sharp pungent smells are no easier to smell than bland ones. I would estimate I smell 15% of what I used to, or expect to.

Taste is slightly different. I can taste many things, more so when I can breathe through my nose as I eat. Vanilla, chocolate, almond, and lemon are still very easy to taste. Chicken, rice, potato are very hard to taste. Tangy, sour, and salty foods give that sensation, but not actual taste.

I don’t know why this is happening, and I haven’t heard much about it from my limited research. I am being patient though. It’s been almost 3 weeks since I’ve been congested and sinus infection-free.

I also want to let people know that they should not expect this after sinus surgery.

But, I didn’t expect it, nor was I told about it, nor is my doctor overly concerned with this lack of taste and smell.

Responses

  1. I am a huge believer in natural cures, and in not jumping to meds or surgery too quickly. However I must say that if things get to the “chronic” stage don’t mess around. See your doctor and then if you get a ct scan make sure you know all your options (it used to be that sinus surgery was the only option. but now there are less invasive choices like balloon sinuplasty).

    That’s my two cents. Take care


Leave a Reply

Categories

