Posted by: cynewulffe | August 31, 2009

New article Review…Loss of Smell

It’s been 60 days since my sinus surgery (maxillary). After two weeks, I had about 20 per cent of my smell and taste. After one month I had about 35% of my original senses. And then I had an allergy attack. Itchy eyes, ears, and nose. Sneezing, etc. My smell has regressed to almost 0%. My taste is at 10%. I can sense sour and sweet sensations, and some vanilla and chocolate flavors. But eggs, oatmeal, yogurts taste like blah.

Sinuswars has a good article on smell. They begin by describing to all of us, what it is like to lose your smell. A description is given for the different names for the loss of smell and taste. It appears that currently I have Hyposmia and Hypogeusia. At least there’s a name for it. A list is produced and explained as to different reasons why someone might lose their olfactory senses. The rest of the categories are fairly general, but they lead me to my biggest question, “Why is this happening?”

Surgery.

Okay. How long will it last?

Don’t know.

Responses

  1. Hey I have a question for you. I have been wrestling w/ my own “to have surgery or not” question and was told of another option besides FESS. That was Balloon Sinuplasty.

    I have been doing research online and am very interested. I am wondering if other people were also told about this option and if so what do people think?

    Thanks for reading and have a great day.

  2. Hey Darryl,
    It was never mentioned with my doctor, although I’m only 1+ hours out of Georgetown Univ. Hospital where they are promoting it. I definitely would get info on it, if there is any. It doesn’t make a lot of sense to me because it would seem to help open a sinus passage to allow drainage, but what after it’s taken out? One month later? I don’t get it; unless they place a stent of some sort in your nose. I thought I tasted the flavor orange today….it’s been 3 months. I only had maxillary sinus surgery, it wasn’t supposed to be this invasive?

    But, each operation is different.


Leave a Reply

Categories

