Posted by: cynewulffe | July 17, 2009

Recovering from Sinus Surgery, Day 18

Yesterday was the first day since surgery that I felt like my “old” self. Almost three weeks of constant pain. Very, very difficult. When I had surgery I had no idea that it would take this long. I thought that I had researched enough, but clearly I hadn’t. I guess I thought I would be invulnerable to some of the extreme cases or possible post-op scenarios. That didn’t happen. Yesterday I had very little pain. It felt like I had taken two steps forward. I tried to take it easy  but the possibilities were endless. I did write quite a bit but I did gardening, installed our new bathroom faucet (1.5 hours) and that clearly did me in. By night I was feeling overwhelmed. I didn’t want to drink a glass of soda because it irritated me.

This morning I woke up with quite a bit of pain over my temples, on top of the head, and congested with some sneezing. I’m going to try to go slower today. Sinus pressure is painful and common meds won’t alleviate the pain in many cases.

Responses

  1. Glad to hear you’re recovering promptly. Gardening and installing a new faucet sounds like a lot of work after surgery. I can only imagine the frustration of not being able to do the things you used to. I hope you feel better sooner than expected. I know many meds won’t kill the pain, I don’t know much about sinus surgery, but will do some research, perhaps there are alternative and more efficient ways to relieve all that pain and congestion.

  2. I feel your pain, I just had sinus surgery & septiplasty 2 weeks ago…childbirth was not even this painful!!! During the first 3 days, it was completely impossible to get any relief regardless of how many pain pills I took. Once they removed the splints, it finally felt like I had some relief…those things are about as big as a finger! Could you just imagine shoving your entire finger down your nostil??? I’m sorry to hear it took you so long to heal. Luckily, I’m on week 2 & pretty much feeling back to normal…and I can finally breathe!!!! Modern medicine is just the best thing ever (there’s a tad bit of sarcasm here)!


Leave a Reply

Categories

