Posted by: cynewulffe | October 2, 2009

Sinus, headache, and allergy update

I had a very bad sinus infection. Great globs of yellow kept coming and coming. Then a cold joined in for a week, and then my allergies caused problems. I’m currently on day 9 of my antibiotic. Most of the sinus junk is out but I noticed a little today that was left. I also noticed that I still get a sinus headache and pressure. The pressure is about 20% of what it used to be and it’s generally around my eye and between the eyebrows:ethmoid. I probably had it before but the maxillary sinus pain was overwhelming. This is nothing. I noticed how the eyebrow pain radiates a little to the top of my head too.

As for my smell and taste, I still can’t smell much at all. This past week I smelled a little from a vanilla candle and a brownie mix. I can consistently taste vanilla, lemon, and a mothball taste from some vanilla additives. And chocolate! Some times I get a feeling that I am going to get overwhelmed by a smell. That is what many sinus surgery patients talk about. I haven’t smelled that much!

As fall picks up, I continue to sinus rinse 2x a day. I am planning on purchasing a humidifier this fall/winter because we get low humidity in our house, and for the past few years, we have had most of the sinus pain during those times.

Responses

  1. Well I can tell you that my next door neighbor had balloon sinuplasty last week and now his sinuses are fine AND he says he smells everything (that sounds weird but he meant it in a good way).
    I have jasmine growing in my yard and tuesday morning he said it was the first time he had ever smelled it. And we have been neighbors for 4 years.
    Very happy for him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

